Perfiditas by Alison Morton

The sequel to Inceptio continues the tale of Carina Mitela and the alternative history country of Roma-Nova.  Once again , the author has given us a fast paced page turner filled with wonderful characters and intriguing plots.  The main story line in the first half of Perfiditas concerns an attempted coup against the Matriarchal government of Roma-Nova and what Carina has to go through to thwart the treason.  Her development continues from Inceptio as she hones her skills and abilities as a member of an elite government para-military unit.

I must confess that I was concerned about the second half of the book as I couldn’t see how the author could maintain interest after the first half treason plot.  However, my concerns turned out to go for naught as plots and sub-plots emerge around the legal and political fallout of Carina’s activities in bringing the traitors to justice.  One bombshell of a plot twist had me stop reading for a moment so I could exhale and exclaim, ‘Oh my, I didn’t see that one coming.’    Kudos to the author and 4 stars for Perfiditas

Leave a Reply

