Galba’s Men by L.J. Trafford

galbasmen.jpg

A witty, jocose romp through the imperial reign of Galba, the second of the four emperors in a year.  Wonderful characters throughout, the story is told from the viewpoint of the slaves and freedmen who staff the Imperial Palace and who run the bureaucracy that runs the Empire.  While I thoroughly enjoyed the humor that permeates the pages of this book, I would be remiss if I didn’t mention the well written intrigues and political machinations that bring home the stark reality of this unsettled period in Rome’s history.   It is the kind of tale that is; well let me put it this way :  I usually read three books at the same time and I divide my reading time between them pretty evenly….in this case, and in spite of the fact that the other books currently being read are really good, I broke protocol and couldn’t put this one down.  My only disappointment is that book three is not out yet.  4.7 stars and the coveted Hoover Book Reviews ‘You Gotta Read This One’ official seal of approval.  🙂

Leave a Reply

