About Paul Bennett – a.k.a.Hooverbookreviews

IMG_20141025_094813

Paul was born in Detroit when the Big Three ruled the automobile industry, and The Korean Conflict was in full swing. A lifelong interest in history and a love of reading eventually led him to Wayne State University where he majored in Ancient History, with a minor in Physical Anthropology. However, to make ends meet, those studies were left to the realm of dreams, and Paul found himself accidentally embarking on a 50 year career in computers. A career that he has recently retired from in order to spend more time with those dreams….7 grandchildren will help fill the time as well.

He now resides in the quaint New England town of Salem, Massachusetts with his wife Daryl, just a few minutes’ walk from the North River, and the site where the Revolution almost began.

The Mallory Saga is the culmination of Paul’s love of history, and his creative drive to write stories. With Nightwish and Bruce Cockburn coming through his headphones, and many cups of excellent coffee, Paul hopes to carry the Saga into the late 19th century, bringing American History to life through the eyes and actions of the Mallory family.

Follow Paul and the Mallory Saga:

On Facebook https://www.facebook.com/mallorysaga/

On Twitter https://twitter.com/hooverbkreview

Turn off the TV, read a book, write a review – an author’s best friend. 😎

Clash is available on Kindle, paperback.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01MXR186R

https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B01MXR186R

coffeepotaward

The second book in the saga, Paths to Freedom is available.

Paths to Freedom (1).png

Amazon Kindle Buy Link

Now as to other facts about me:

  • Married Daryl in 1977
  • Twin sons Jacob and Nathanael born in 1980.
  • Moved to Salem, Ma in 1984.
  • Daughter Bethany born in 1988.
  • Grandson Bodhi and granddaughter Kaedyn born 4 days apart in October 2012.
  • Granddaughter Eloise born Feb 2016
  • Have worked in various multi-platform data centers since 1980.
  • Avid fan of The Detroit Tigers even while living in the heart of Red Sox Nation.
  • Player of many sports as a young man, most notably softball and basketball.
  • Due to aging joints am now a golfer – with my regular golf buddies have formed a group we call The Hoovers as in the vacuum cleaner and thus our motto is ‘We Can’t Suck Enough’
  • The name Ocho Seis or just Ocho is the result of the best round of golf I have played.  Shot an 86 a few years back and adopted that as my golfing alter ego.  Note-I am aware that 86 in Spanish is Ochenta y seis but Ocho Seis has a better ring to it.  Thus you will find Ocho in many of the stories I write.
  • Drinker of only good coffee – fresh roasted/freshly ground from my friends at Thanksgiving Coffee, though I can take Dunkin Donuts coffee if I get it with a shot of espresso to give it some oomph.
  • Drinker of only fine ales, stouts and porters.  American industrial beers like Budweiser, Coors and Miller are an anathema to my sensitive palette.
  • A cynic of the American political system.   In the words of singer-songwriter Shawn Phillips ‘The country isn’t run by the statesman now, but by the gentry.’
  • Here’s the link to my musings and stories http://mystoriesandsuch.wordpress.com/

Take care….turn off the TV and read a book…and write a review – the author’s best friend.

 

23 thoughts on “About Paul Bennett – a.k.a.Hooverbookreviews

  1. Martin Lake September 6, 2013 / 11:52 am

    This is a great bio, Paul. Where’s your novel, I ask myself. I loved your final exam essay. He must have been a very creative Professor.

    • tigers68 September 7, 2013 / 4:21 am

      I know I have a novel in me…problem is I know I can sustain a shorter written work…need to figure out the longer one..thanks for the kind words…had fun doing the bio…

  2. Kris J. Barnes April 28, 2015 / 10:32 am

    Hi Paul,

    Great site! We are currently working with US author Allen Woods and his book ‘TheSword & Scabbard: Thieves and Thugs and the Bloody Massacre in Boston’.

    The book (Boston Heritage Publishing, 2015, 978-0-8841-0-1, $19.99 online or e-book 978-0-8841-1-8, $11.99, http://www.theswordandscabbard.com) brings the period to life in a fast-paced tale using real and fictional characters who experience the social and political conflicts from a different point of view.

    Here is some more info: http://www.authoramp.com/2015/04/the-sword-and-scabbard-thieves-and-thugs-and-the-bloody-massacre-in-boston/

    We are looking for appropriate and awesome historical fiction blogs to try and get some coverage for this book, and wondered if we could feature the press release on your blog – or whether you’d like a copy to review?

    We would also welcome any interviews if this is of interest.

    Let me know if you need any more information.

    Kind regards,

    Kris

    • tigers68 April 28, 2015 / 10:57 am

      I am interested in having a copy for read and review. BTW,I am in the process of editing the first draft of my French and Indian War novel, Clash of Empires…

  3. Cliff May June 2, 2015 / 4:30 pm

    Paul, a great page. I visited Salem in the summer of 1992 on a driving tour of New England and did the open top tour bus thing of the old whaling jetties etc. Have a look at my website, http://cliffordmay.com , I think that you will like it, we share similar interests and background.

    • tigers68 June 2, 2015 / 5:00 pm

      Hi …thanks for the comment…I tried to win your book on The Review 🙂

  4. MJ Logue July 11, 2015 / 7:43 pm

    Any time you want to divert into 17th century England I’d love to have you look over the Uncivil Wars books…. I love your reviewing style and I reckon the politics of the rebel rabble might appeal to
    you!

    • tigers68 July 11, 2015 / 7:48 pm

      Thanks MJ…will certainly take a look at your work…

      • M J Logue July 11, 2015 / 8:49 pm

        Thanks Paul! I only came across this site by accident but I will keep coming back now – whether you read my stuff or not I might add 😉

      • tigers68 July 12, 2015 / 1:38 pm

        However you found your way, I appreciate the follow…btw..picked up Red Horse this morning… 🙂

  5. MJ Logue July 12, 2015 / 1:47 pm

    I’d have sent you a copy if I’d known you were going to be that quick!:-)

  6. tigers68 July 12, 2015 / 1:50 pm

    no worries…there’s always book 2 🙂

  7. Anna Belfrage November 3, 2015 / 9:07 pm

    I’ve been reading your reviews off and on – entertaining with a “bite” 🙂 As to the coffee, do you never drink good tea (like real, loose leaf tea) ?

    • tigers68 November 3, 2015 / 9:48 pm

      Thank you..I try to have a little fun with the reviews..it’s a good outlet for my Muse’s wit. I like good tea, just don’t happen to drink much of it. 🙂

  8. margaretskea Author of prize winning historical novel Turn of the Tide May 27, 2016 / 5:58 am

    If 16th century Scotland – clan feuding, murder, and moral dilemma interests you, let me know…

  9. Helen Hollick June 11, 2016 / 7:01 pm

    I see several authors I know above – in particular Anna Belfrage. Myself and eight other authors (including Anna) have got together to write eleven alternative history ‘what if’ short stories relating to 1066 (‘1066 Turned Upside Down’ ) it will be published as an e-book towards the end of July but we are seeking interested reviewers for the ARC PDF. Are you interested?
    author @ helenhollick (dot) net

  10. mikefitzuk November 16, 2016 / 9:03 pm

    Hi there. Wondered if you’d be interested in reviewing my alternate history thriller “Payback.”
    Payback is Michael FitzGerald’s new speculative fiction fantasy in the alternative history genre.
    Payback was published on 21 October 2016 by Moonshine Cove.
    In a world trembling on the brink of war the death of one man could change history. What if the Mafia and FBI joined forces to assassinate Hitler in 1938? The gangster Bugsy Siegel and an agent to control his volatile nature go to Italy on a mission to kill him.
    Payback is available in both paperback and Kindle editions and can be purchased from Amazon.
    Comments on Payback by other published authors include: “a first-rate thriller – keeps the heart racing to the very last page” – James Thayer, author of S-Day; “A great read with an amazing plot that kept me always wanting more” – David Avoura King, author of Hitler Out of Time; “Strong characters, excellent research and surprising twists and turns” – Sandra Saidak, author of From the Ashes; “A great novel of what might have been” – Ian Hall, author of the Avenging Steel series; “Gangsters and Hitler – what could go wrong? Read Payback to find out” – James R Benn, author of Rag and Bone; “one of the most original ‘what if?’ novels since Fatherland” – Kim Kinrade, author of Rockets of the Reich
    ISBN numbers for the paperback are: • ISBN-10: 1945181001 and • ISBN-13: 978-1945181006 and ASIN numbers for the Kindle are: ASIN: B01MFABT1Q
    Payback has 268 pages and the price is $13.99 for the paperback edition $5.99 for the Kindle.
    Contact the author at: mikefitz@lycos.com, http://mikefitzauthor.co.uk, http://mikefitzauthor.blogspot.co.uk, http://mikefitzuk.wordpress.com, https://www.facebook.com/mikefitzauthor, https://twitter.com/mikefitzauthor
    I’d be happy to send you a mobi file of “Payback” if you’d be interested in considering reviewing it.
    Thanks for your time.
    Mike

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s