She Sees Ghosts: The Story of a Woman Who Rescues Lost Souls

by David Fitz-Gerald

55824850. sy475

#SheSeesGhosts #DavidFitzGerald #HFVBTBlogTours
Twitter tags: @AuthorDAVIDFG @hfvbt  
Facebook tags: @AuthorDaveFITZGERALD @hfvbt 
Instagram tags: @authordavidfitzgerald @hfvbt

BLURB

A blazing fire killed her family and devoured her home. A vengeful demon haunted her. Ghosts of the Revolutionary War needed help that only she could provide. A young woman languished, desperate to survive, and teetered on the edge of sanity.

Mehitable grew up in a freshly tamed town, carved from the primeval forest. Family, friends, and working at the mercantile filled her days and warmed her heart. For Mehitable, life was simple and safe, until tragedy struck. When her family perished in their burning home, she retreated into a world of her own making.

As a young girl, she had seen glimmers, glimpses, and flickers of the spirit world. She closed her eyes. She turned her back. She ignored the apparitions that she never spoke of, desperately hoping they would leave her in peace. She was mistaken.

Grief-stricken, Mehitable withdrew from the human world. Ghosts were everywhere. They became bolder. She could no longer turn her back on the spirit world. Her friends feared for her survival. Nobody understood her. She would have to find her own way.

Fans of TV’s Ghost Whisperer and Long Island Medium will especially love She Sees Ghosts. This historical novel features memorable characters and delivers bone-tingling, spine chilling goosebumps. It stands on its own and it is the next installment in the Adirondack Spirit Series by the award-winning author of Wanders Far―An Unlikely Hero’s Journey. David Fitz-Gerald delivers a historical novel with a bittersweet ending that you won’t see coming.

Would she save the spirits’ souls, or would they save her? Only time would tell.

REVIEW

To be honest, I’ve never been one who believed in ghosts. However, I do believe in stories that hold me enthralled; that mesmerize me with imaginative plots, and memorable characters. She Sees Ghosts is a delightful tale of a woman with a highly unusual gift; one that surprises, frightens, and generally creates a tense atmosphere from some of the village folk. It is a tale of tenderness born out of a horrendous tragedy early in Mehitable’s life. I was taken in by the beauty of the interactions between her, and the spirits she encounters; spirits who are often confused about what has happened, or how to proceed away from the bonds that hold them to the earth. It is also a tale of unexpected love, one which produces not only joy to Mehitable, but also the descendant of the legendary Wanders Far. The author has created an account of the early settling of upstate New York. His descriptions of the landscape had me longing to go hiking there. So too, the characters who are molding this new frontier into civilization, are wonderfully crafted to fit the time and place. A triumph of history mixed with storytelling, with more to come. 5 ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Giveaways

One lucky reader will win the Grand Prize Giveaway which includes a candle, Coffee Mug, chocolates and a signed copy of She Sees Ghosts!

Other Giveaways:

1 Coffee Mug
3 Paperbacks
5 eBooksThe giveaway is open to US residents only and ends on December 26th. You must be 18 or older to enter.
Embed Code: <a class=”e-widget no-button” href=”https://gleam.io/yLulq/she-sees-ghosts” rel=”nofollow”>She Sees Ghosts</a>
http://a%20href=

Direct Link: https://gleam.io/competitions/yLulq-she-sees-ghosts

About the Author

David Fitz-Gerald writes fiction that is grounded in history and soars with the spirits. If you’re looking for the atheist activist author by the same name, keep looking—this book is definitely not for you! After a chaotic day as a business person, Dave enjoys getting lost in the settings he imagines and spending time with the characters he creates. Writing historical fiction is like making paintings of the past. He loves to weave fact and fiction together, stirring in action, adventure, romance, and a heavy dose of the supernatural with the hope of transporting the reader to another time and place. He is an Adirondack 46-er, which means that he has hiked all of the highest peaks in New York State, so it should not be surprising when Dave attempts to glorify hikers as swashbuckling superheroes in his writing. She Sees Ghosts-A Story of a Woman Who Rescues Lost Souls is the next installment in the Adirondack Spirit Series.

WEBSITE | FACEBOOK | TWITTER | GOODREADS | BOOKBUB | INSTAGRAM

A Presidents Story by Brad McKim

38890488

BLURB

At the dawn of the 19th century, fourteen men will succeed George Washington in leading the young United States. As their personal tales intertwine and overlap with one another on their way to the Presidency, they craft an election system that is, at once, chaotic and orderly. Their ambition forces them to join political parties even as those parties’ agendas are not always clear. Their supporters engage in ever more vicious public and private campaigns. They rely on political favors and a partisan press to win votes and to solicit compromise. And yet, they follow Washington’s example and hand over power after each election to the newest victor, typically with unprecedented grace and humility. These are the practices that survive, even as a Civil War looms that threatens to destroy virtually everything else about the young country.

REVIEW

Way back when I was a lad attending American History classes, at the appropriately named Andrew Jackson Jr. High School in Detroit, MI, I was subjected to the old ‘memorize these dates, names, and places’ method of making history boring. I think it’s just pure amazing that I fell in love with the subject, even after further torment at the hands of a Lewis Cass Technical High School history teacher who read to us every day from his notes. What the author has done with A Presidents Story is just the kind of history that should be taught. To me, the presidencies from Monroe through Buchanan (with the notable exception of Jackson) were taught almost as singular events with none of the interconnections, or the interactions between that group of men. It’s fascinating what the author has done in bringing to life the connections, and how their interactions came to govern this country at what was the most dangerous time in it’s short history. The narrative proceeds at a comfortable pace as the reader follows the threads that make up this rich historical tapestry. The dialogue rings true….the author’s research into the lives of the players adds to the realism of their conversations and their actions.

I highly recommend A Presidents Story…not only is it an entertaining look at our past, but it is also edifying…you just might learn some stuff.  🙂   5 Stars