Emperor’s Knife (Imperial Assassin #2) by Alex Gough

49691282. sx318 sy475

BLURB

Brothers. Emperors. Deadly enemies… An unputdownable novel of intrigue and combat in Rome.

Emperor Severus is on his deathbed. His sons Geta and Caracalla, feuding in Britannia, are readying for a devastating power struggle.

Silus, now a centurion in the Arcani, the secretive network of spies and killers, is thrown into the maelstrom. Back in Rome, plots breed in the stinking alleys.

Everyone might be an enemy. Everyone a traitor. As an Imperial Assassin, Silus’ loyalty will be tested to breaking point. And with the Empire starting to buckle under the strain, Silus must ask what matters: Rome or his own damned soul?

Better watch yourself…

From thundering races at the Circus Maximus to death in the Imperial palaces, this is a powerful and unputdownable novel that will transport to you Ancient Rome, perfect for fans of Ben Kane, Simon Scarrow and Conn Iggulden.

REVIEW

A heart pounding, heart breaking tale as Silus finds himself thrust into situations where his devotion and loyalty to his Arcani master and the Emperor are put to extreme tests. A well crafted story that is part soul searching dilemma and part action filled excitement. Caught between the ever increasing divide between the co-emperors, and the demands of his assigned missions, Silus struggles to maintain his loyalties, not only to his masters, but to his friends as well.  Plots full of surprises, characters who draw you into the narrative, the ability to keep the reader turning the pages, and a nice teaser at the end makes Emperor’s Knife an enjoyable romp in yet another troubled dynastic period in Rome’s history. 5 ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

Emperor’s Sword (Imperial Assassin #1) by Alex Gough

46033059. sx318

BLURB

A desolate wasteland. A mission gone wrong. An impossible goal. A gripping new series of Ancient Rome

Roman scout Silus is deep behind enemy lines in Caledonia. As he spies on a raiding party, he is abruptly discovered by an enemy chief and his son.

Mounting a one man ambush, everything quickly goes wrong. Silus must run for his life, the head of the enemy leader in his hands. Little does he know the price he will pay…

As Silus is inducted into the Arcani, an elite faction of assassins and spies, he must return to Caledonia, back into the wilderness, and risk everything in the service of his Caesar. The odds don’t look good.

Failure is not an option.

REVIEW

What we have here is an example of an author using the historical research, or lack thereof, and combining that with a creative flair to produce an exciting story of loss and courage. A no holds barred sweep of competing forces bent on total destruction of their foes, Emperor’s Sword is also a glimpse into the human soul as Silus copes with the guilt ridden hopelessness that underlies his life, and is a driving force in the revenge he seeks. I love Roman fiction, there are so many eras, places, and people to bring to life on a written page, and this one is spot on. Caracalla in Caledonia, oh what fun. A page turning, heart pounding tale awaits you, my fellow readers.  5 Stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐