Emperor’s Knife (Imperial Assassin #2) by Alex Gough

49691282. sx318 sy475

BLURB

Brothers. Emperors. Deadly enemies… An unputdownable novel of intrigue and combat in Rome.

Emperor Severus is on his deathbed. His sons Geta and Caracalla, feuding in Britannia, are readying for a devastating power struggle.

Silus, now a centurion in the Arcani, the secretive network of spies and killers, is thrown into the maelstrom. Back in Rome, plots breed in the stinking alleys.

Everyone might be an enemy. Everyone a traitor. As an Imperial Assassin, Silus’ loyalty will be tested to breaking point. And with the Empire starting to buckle under the strain, Silus must ask what matters: Rome or his own damned soul?

Better watch yourself…

From thundering races at the Circus Maximus to death in the Imperial palaces, this is a powerful and unputdownable novel that will transport to you Ancient Rome, perfect for fans of Ben Kane, Simon Scarrow and Conn Iggulden.

REVIEW

A heart pounding, heart breaking tale as Silus finds himself thrust into situations where his devotion and loyalty to his Arcani master and the Emperor are put to extreme tests. A well crafted story that is part soul searching dilemma and part action filled excitement. Caught between the ever increasing divide between the co-emperors, and the demands of his assigned missions, Silus struggles to maintain his loyalties, not only to his masters, but to his friends as well.  Plots full of surprises, characters who draw you into the narrative, the ability to keep the reader turning the pages, and a nice teaser at the end makes Emperor’s Knife an enjoyable romp in yet another troubled dynastic period in Rome’s history. 5 ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

Emperor’s Sword (Imperial Assassin #1) by Alex Gough

46033059. sx318

BLURB

A desolate wasteland. A mission gone wrong. An impossible goal. A gripping new series of Ancient Rome

Roman scout Silus is deep behind enemy lines in Caledonia. As he spies on a raiding party, he is abruptly discovered by an enemy chief and his son.

Mounting a one man ambush, everything quickly goes wrong. Silus must run for his life, the head of the enemy leader in his hands. Little does he know the price he will pay…

As Silus is inducted into the Arcani, an elite faction of assassins and spies, he must return to Caledonia, back into the wilderness, and risk everything in the service of his Caesar. The odds don’t look good.

Failure is not an option.

REVIEW

What we have here is an example of an author using the historical research, or lack thereof, and combining that with a creative flair to produce an exciting story of loss and courage. A no holds barred sweep of competing forces bent on total destruction of their foes, Emperor’s Sword is also a glimpse into the human soul as Silus copes with the guilt ridden hopelessness that underlies his life, and is a driving force in the revenge he seeks. I love Roman fiction, there are so many eras, places, and people to bring to life on a written page, and this one is spot on. Caracalla in Caledonia, oh what fun. A page turning, heart pounding tale awaits you, my fellow readers.  5 Stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Bandits of Rome by Alex Gough

banditsofrome

What better way to recover from an awful ordeal than to spend some time away from Rome with friends at your country villa?  Sounds like a lovely time, a time to recoup your energy, your edge, your humanity….indeed that is what the plan is for Carbo and his friends and loved ones.  Ahhh…but if only the gods and fate would allow such a peaceful enterprise, unfortunately for Carbo they do not.  The author has provided for our entertainment one of the more exciting, tense filled dramas I have read in a while as he chronicles the extreme range of emotion and human tragedy one man can possibly care to endure.  In order to avoid giving away too much of the plot let me just summarize briefly….a vicious, masked, bandit duo is on the rampage along the road leading to Carbo’s country villa…these bandits aren’t interested in the robbery of goods but are interested in capturing certain types of people for, let’s say, nefarious purposes.  Carbo and gang encounter them on the way to the villa, barely surviving the attack. they run them off but in so doing are now targets for this revenge seeking gang and revenge is dealt out in thrilling detail and result.  Carbo must survive the most inhumane of circumstances if he is ever going to find the peace he is striving for.  A wonderful tale of gripping action and torn emotions…the best and worst of human thought and deeds.  5 stars and a hearty Hoover Book Reviews recommendation.

About the author:

I’m a veterinary surgeon from the southwest of England, working in referral practice. I have had a decades long interest in Ancient Roman history, and Watchmen of Rome is the culmination of a lot of research into the underclasses of Ancient Rome. I am also the author of two veterinary textbooks, Breed Predispositions to Disease in Dogs and Cats and Differential Diagnosis in Small Animal Medicine, both of which have been translated into multiple languages and are in their second editions. I would love to interact with readers, please email me at romanfiction@hotmail.co.uk. Website: http://www.romanfiction.com/

About Hoover Book Reviews;

On Twitter @hooverbkreview

On Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/pages/Clash-of-Empires/1115407281808508